Skip to content

Nation’s farm groups fight bad publicity

February 2, 2011

I’ve been so busy lately I haven’t been cooking much, but I’ll get back to recipes soon! In the meantime I’ve found more news on my quest to better understand where our food comes from and what goes into it.

In the LA Times yesterday was an article about farmers joining together to try to improve their image after recent campaigns to end animal suffering and improve farming practices.

(Image Source)

http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/nation/wire/sns-ap-us-food-and-farm-farmers-coalition,0,4949825.story

They say the bad practices and bad farmers are only a small percentage, and the American public doesn’t see that.

In the article the director of the Humane Society’s campaign to end factory farming said it wouldn’t make a lot of difference because their efforts are aimed at the large factory farms.

I can’t say if the farmers are right or if animals rights groups are right, but that’s the problem. There’s almost no visibility it seems, and due to the amount of meat fast food restaurants alone produce it would appear it would almost have to come from a factory farm. But as I’ve said, my lack of knowledge is why I’m trying to learn and read all I can.

I still can’t help thinking about the bad things though. For example, I read about how some factory farms have to cut pigs’ tails off because they’ll eat each other’s tails when in confinement, and they get so depressed that they won’t do anything about it so it gets infected and they get sick. That makes me so sad! Even if that happens on only one factory farm it’s too much!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 3:21 pm

    I’ve really been enjoying your last few posts! The recipes are great as well, but reading what you’re writing about the state of food is also good. It’s bringing back the passion that I felt about it a few months ago. It’s good to stay fired up but sometimes it just seems like no one cares and that makes it more difficult. It’s one of those issues that becomes so easy to ignore, so I thank you for the reminder, My diet truly has changed tremendously since reading Michael Pollan and watching Food, Inc. but I know I can still do much better.

    • February 4, 2011 6:40 am

      Thank you! You’re right, it does seem like no one cares. Ever since I did the first news-type post I just kept finding more articles I wanted to write about. Hopefully people will read them want to know more!

Leave a Reply

