Skip to content

Baked Salmon With Creamed Spinach

January 20, 2011

Occasionally I’ll get a piece of salmon that’s so good I forget I don’t really like it. That happened tonight.

Knowing that I’m not a fan of salmon I thought: Shucks, I better think of something to put on this. This is what led to me experimenting with creaming spinach. Never done it before, and it was a smash hit! I got two high fives from Adrian!

Baked Salmon With Creamed Spinach

– 2 medium salmon fillets

– Frozen spinach (uncreamed)

– Milk

– 1 teaspoon of Corn starch (corn flour if you are in England)

– 1 tablespoon of butter

– Sea salt

– Pepper

– Olive oil

– Grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese (or any strong cheese)

I bought two nice salmon fillets, or as the Brits would say, “fillits,” and I baked them according to the directions. I lined the pan with foil, spread a little olive oil, and then placed the salmon in the pan, turning to each side to coat with a little oil.

Shake a little sea salt and pepper over the salmon, then lightly place more foil over the top. Cook in a pre-heated oven for 18-20 minutes at about 190 C or 375 F.

For the creamed spinach: Melt the tablespoon of butter in a small pan. Once melted, add the corn starch/flour and keep mixing with a wooden spoon until all the chunks are gone and you have a thick cream. Don’t worry, there won’t be that much there and it will get quite thick. A little at a time add some milk and keep stirring.

Once it thickens again, add a little more milk and keep stirring. Depending on how much spinach you have cooked, add more milk until you feel you have enough cream. You don’t need a lot! You can always add more if you haven’t made enough because it takes about 2 minutes. Mix the cream and about a 1/4 cup shredded parmigiano reggiano into the spinach until you have a good consistency, like this:

Normally I make fresh beans, but I didn’t have much time so I used one of the canned beans I keep on hand just in case I need an extra vegetable. My favorite way to have canned green beans is to drain all the water from the can and fry them with a little olive oil, garlic powder, sea salt and some pepper. Cook until they are slightly browned.

… and a ton of creamed spinach for me. I love it!!

The salad was also a really simple romaine lettuce salad with sliced white onion, more parmigiano reggiano cheese and a little ranch dressing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

