Skip to content

Simple Stuffed Bell Peppers

January 19, 2011

Don’t stuffed bell peppers seem like they would be difficult? I always thought so. I got ambitious last week and decided to make some … with no recipe.

In keeping with my tradition of eating good food but not spending all night in the kitchen, I made a tasty recipe that has only a few ingredients.

You remember that little green salad you met a couple weeks back, the avocado & basil salad? Well, there he is!

Simple Stuffed Bell Peppers

This recipe can easily be adapted to how many peppers you want to make. I made three.

– Bell peppers (red, green or yellow)

– Garlic

– Cream cheese

– Salt

– Pepper

– Sharp cheddar cheese

– Whole grain rice (about 2 cups)

– Chicken or vegetable stock cube (2)

I didn’t really measure my rice, which is bad, but it worked out. I didn’t care if I made too much because I wanted to try other recipes with whole grain rice, like pumpkin rice pudding. (I’ll post the recipe soon! Yum!)

I cooked around two cups of rice for 20 minutes. I didn’t cook it all the way because I wanted to bake the peppers for about 15 minutes.

While the rice was cooking I finely chopped one clove of garlic, and tossed that in the water with the rice and the stock cubes.

If you have never cut a bell pepper before – it’s easy. Just slice the top off, and then pull out all the little seeds. Poor seeds. They didn’t know it but they were trash-bound the day they were born.

Once the rice has cooked for about 20 minutes, make sure there isn’t excess water. I used about 1/4 of the cube of cream cheese and mixed it in. How much cheese you want is totally your call. I didn’t want mine to be too cheesy, so I put just enough cheese in my mixture to hold the rice together. Salt and pepper the mixture, but taste along the way to make sure you aren’t oversalting.

Set the peppers upright in a small pan, then fill them to the top with the rice. Sprinkle the sharp cheddar cheese over the top, and then pop in the oven for about 15 minutes at 375 F, or until the cheese on top is golden brown.

If you want you can chop another vegetable, like eggplant or zucchini, and place the pieces around the peppers to cook at the same time. Just drizzle some olive oil and salt on the chopped veg before they go in the oven.

Done!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

