Skip to content

It’s Now Possible To Crave Kale!

January 12, 2011

I’ve always eaten kale, and although I never hated it I never thought, “You know what sounds good right now? Kale.”

That is, until I had some kind of divine intervention when I was preparing Christmas dinner and turned an almost disaster into a new favorite dish.

I got a recipe for roasted kale off a food website. Big mistake. It turned out dry and crappy, so I ended up making my own recipe that was only mildly related to the disaster I pulled off the Internet.

(in case you didn’t know, kale is ultra healthy)

Kale With Feta, Almonds and Balsamic

– Bag of small kale leaves

– Chopped almonds

– Feta cheese

– Balsamic vinegar for drizzling

Boil the kale according to directions, about 10 minutes. I used about half the bag as a side dish for three people. While cooking chop the feta into smallish pieces. I just roughly chop it until I like the size. I chopped about a handful of feta for the kale.

Drain the kale and place in a serving dish.

Toss in some almonds, however many you want. Toss in the feta. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar – you don’t need too much. Mix it all together once or twice and it’s ready to serve!

Both times I’ve made this it’s been gone before I was able to have seconds, and I think most people would be surprised to hear that about a kale-based dish!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    January 12, 2011 4:46 pm

    I’m going to try this. I need to eat more veg. Tonight I am going to make a roasted veggie baguette (jimmy john’s bread to be more accurate) and I’m going to make a lemon/olive oil/dijon mustard glaze and feta to go on top. As an appetizer I was going to make your blueberry salad, but Connor isn’t crazy about balsamic vinegar so we bought a ceasar vinaigrette. I’m going to toss in some blueberries and feta though.

    • January 12, 2011 9:10 pm

      Connor is dumb. Anyway, man I love a good JJ. You should post a recipe for your dressing. I’ve been really looking to try making a mustard-based dressing for some time now, whether it’s a salad dressing or a glaze/marinade.

Trackbacks

  1. Delish and Snazzy Side: Avocado & Basil Salad « Divorce Hungry

Leave a Reply

