Skip to content

Sara’s (Gordon Ramsay’s) Turkey (Chicken) Burgers

January 2, 2011

I never made burgers before for three reasons.

1) I thought it was too complicated

2) I don’t have a grill

3) I was grossed out by raw meat

When I saw Gordon Ramsay’s Chicken Burgers recipe in his Healthy Appetite book I got a tickle in my stomach when I realized I might be able to finally consume a burger that wasn’t made by my dad or a fast food chain.

Ol’ Gordon made these with chicken, but for some reason I couldn’t find mince chicken so I went with minced turkey. I’m fairly confident the result on your taste buds will be pretty similar. I was delighted. Positively delighted. 

So easy.  Seriously.

For Gordon’s chicken burgers all you need:

– 3 tbsp olive oil

– 1 medium sweet onion, peeled and finely chopped

– 2 garlic cloves, peeled and finely crushed

– sea salt and black pepper

– 350 g of minced skinless, boneless chicken breasts

– 1 large egg

– handful of herbs, such as flat leaf parsley and chives, chopped

I used chives and skipped the parsley, and as I stated above I used minced turkey instead of chicken. I really love chives, which you can find in the section that sells spinach and lettuce, because they have a light onion flavor that’s really nice but not too strong. Onions are delicious. Onion breath is disgusting.

Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a pan on medium heat and cook the onion and garlic with the seasoning for about 5 minutes until they are soft but not brown. Tip into a large bowl and leave it to cool completely.

Add the chicken, egg, seasoning and chopped herbs, and mix until evenly distributed. Cover with cling film and chill for an hour to allow mixture to firm.

Shape the mixture into 6 small patties, with moist hands (I used gloves to get around my fear of touching raw meat. I can’t stand the thought of tiny chunks of raw meat living under my fingernails however short they are!).  Try not to compact the meat.

To cook the burgers heat 2 tbsp of olive oil in a large frying pan or griddle pan. When hot, add the patties and fry for 4 minutes on each side until golden brown and just cooked through. Don’t press them with a spatula as they cook or you’ll squeeze out the juices.

Toast the bun on both sides, and add condiments as you desire. I think they’d go great with a fresh avocado and some nice lettuce and fresh red onion!

Gordon’s recipe calls for serving the burgers with sweet potato wedges, which I adore. Sweet potatoes are amazing, and they are amazingly healthy. Just cut 3 medium sweet potatoes into wedges, drizzle with olive oil and some seasoning like sea salt and pepper. Heat the oven to about 375 F and cook for  15- 20 minutes until they are golden brown around the edges. He says you can drizzle with honey, but I think sweet potatoes are so good on their own it’s not worth it!

I promise you’ll feel super proud of yourself if you have also never made burgers before.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin Mayo permalink
    August 15, 2011 6:13 pm

    Hello Sara
    Greetings from Toronto, Canada. I purchased some ground chicken last Saturday morning and started a Gooogle search “Gordon Ramsay….” and came across your blog. Anyway I tried out the recipie but added some grated carrot as well. The burgers were absolutley delicious, my wife and I just snorted them down. Anyway, thanks for sharing from a former Brit far away from home 🙂

    • August 17, 2011 11:26 am

      Thanks so much! I’m really glad you liked them! I should have kept going with this blog, but I started a new food blog at realfunfood.com if you are interested 🙂

      • Kevin Mayo permalink
        August 17, 2011 4:12 pm

        Hi Sara

        i’ll check out your new blog . Hope the riots didn’t effect you too much

Leave a Reply

