Skip to content

Luxury packed-lunch sandwich

October 17, 2010

Every time I make a sandwich and take it to work the next day I feel sick at the thought of eating it. Sliced, mass-produced bread, disgusting slimy lunch meats, standard condiments … shudder. I finally decided I was just going to spend the money and get some nice ingredients.

Most people I know eat out for lunch every day, and that is a huge expense out of your monthly paycheck. So, even if you buy luxury ingredients for your packed lunch, you are still saving a ton of money – and likely eating better than them!

From Whole Foods I bought a fresh baked kalamata olive wheat loaf of bread. It was 3 pounds, which is roughly $4.50, but it was totally worth it. I’m not a fan of olives, but this bread may have converted me. I’ve never enjoyed a loaf of bread so much as I did this one.

I got some store brand Sainsbury’s Gruyère cheese, a red onion, and some nice lettuce.

At the start of the week I sauteed a couple red onions for another meal and then stored the remainder for later meals. When I was about to make my sandwich I didn’t have a condiment, so I mixed in the remaining carmelized red onion into a little mayo.

Just like that – in a matter of a couple minutes I had a gourmet lunch sandwich with a delicious carmelized onion mayo spread.

Here’s what you need:

1 red onion, carmelized.

Mayo

Gruyère cheese, sliced however you like

Large leaf lettuce, whatever you think is nice.

Fresh, quality bread from a store like Whole Foods. I can’t recommend enough their olive bread.

===

Obviously you won’t need all the carmelized onion, but if you want you can mix the whole onion with mayo and use it as a condiment for the entire week. Start with a little mayo at a time and add until you have your desired thickness.

Then slap everything else on the sandwich and gloat at the fact that your food was cheaper and better than everyone else’s you know!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 1:56 am

    That is a stunning sandwich. Lunch is aways better when you have fresh and great ingredients. I’m not a fan of olives but the bread looks fab.

    • October 20, 2010 2:17 pm

      Thanks! I still can’t believe olive bread was so delicious. I’m definitely buying some more this weekend.

Leave a Reply

