Skip to content

I think a cooking magazine lied to me. Kind of.

October 3, 2010

In the October edition of Sainsbury’s Magazine I saw a lovely looking recipe for Leek and White Bean Soup With Herby Butter.

Although the magazine didn’t lie about the taste, it definitely mislead me about the soup’s appearance! I followed the recipe exactly and my soup turned out much greener than the pretty white soup in the picture:

It doesn’t help that my soup is in a plastic container, minus the herby butter. I assure you, however, that my soup was excellent and I demand that you try it.

Ingredients:

25 g butter

2 medium leeks

1 stick celery

1 bay leaf

2 x 400g tins butter beans, drained

900ml vegetable stock

300ml milk

sea salt

For the herby butter:

50 g butter

about 6 large sage leaves, chopped

2 tbsp lemon juice

Directions:

For the soup, melt butter. Once bubbling add leeks, celery, bay leaf.  Cook about 10 minutes before adding butter beans and stock. Bring to simmer and cook for 15 minutes.

Add milk, season with sea salt and pepper. Return to simmer then remove from heat.  Take out bay leaf.

At this point I put it into a blender, but the recipe says to pass it through a sieve. No way.

For the herby butter, basically just heat the butter then throw all the other stuff in. I didn’t bother with this because there is already enough butter in this recipe. I’m trying to eat healthy.

Besides, it tastes great without the butter.

This recipe also makes a lot – at least 4 servings. The magazine says it’s about 350 calories per serving.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

