Skip to content

Shaving Beets is Hard Work

July 23, 2010

I haven’t updated in a while because I’ve been so busy I haven’t done anything cool – foodwise. Recently, however, I thought I was pretty cool when I found this recipe for Grated Raw Beet Salad on the NY Times. I was thinking, “Wow, I’m going to look so cool eating my raw beet salad because I made this and I can act like it was just an average day for me!”

I’ve always loved beets so I was extra excited. If you are from England, this means beet root (They get confused when you take the ‘root’ away).

I don’t have a food processor, but I have a blender so I thought this would be good enough. I forgot the recipe at work and ended up having to improvise, but I got a little cocky and thought this would be OK. Perhaps it was.

Almost immediately I started getting stressed. I was using a vegetable peeler to peel the beets (not sure if this even needed to happen), but essentially this is just shaving a vegetable. I don’t know why we try to make it sound classier. Anyway, so shaving beets turned out to be really hard and messy work! This is after I cleaned up a lot of it:

I had tried to use the blender but when that didn’t work I was forced to chop by hand. Despite the mess I still wasn’t discouraged because beets are YUM!

Unfortunately I got overly excited the next day and ate half the pot. Immediately after I ate it I got a really terrible sore throat! I don’t know how it happened because obviously beets are OK to be eaten raw, but maybe you are supposed to eat them in moderation. It reminds me of the time when I was about 7 and I thought a peach was really soft so I rubbed it all over my face and then I could hardly move my cheeks because all the little pricklies came off in my skin. When I told my dad what happened all he said was, “Why were you rubbing a peach on your face?”

All in all, it was tasty, so if you want to risk it here is the recipe from the NY Times:

Grated Raw Beet Salad

1/2 pound beets

3 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice

1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

2 tablespoon minced chives, mint or parsley (or a combination)

Salt to taste

Leaves of 1 romaine heart

1. Peel the beets with a vegetable peeler, and grate in a food processor fitted with the shredding blade.

2. Combine the orange juice, lemon juice and olive oil. Toss with the beets and herbs. Season to taste with salt. Line a salad bowl or platter with romaine lettuce leaves, top with the grated beets and serve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Kuhlman permalink
    July 23, 2010 9:04 pm

    Glad that was your kitchen and not mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

