Skip to content

Smoothies

April 6, 2010

I mentioned in a previous post that I have always been scared to make Asian food because I didn’t know what the ingredients were. The same goes with blended beverages and food. When I saw that the recipe required a mixer of some sort I would immediately slam the book shut.

“That’s way too complicated for me!” I thought.

Then I bought a blender this weekend. I was at Whole Foods and a lady was making samples of fruit smoothies with kale in it. I thought kale in a smoothie would be disgusting. I like kale, but it is pretty bitter. We tried the smoothie and although it was equal parts fruit and kale, it was so good!

So we made a few variations of our own and it couldn’t be easier. Even Adrian is blending!

Ingredients:

Bunch or bag of fresh kale

Frozen berries, any type you want, but we got mixed because it was cheaper

Bananas

Orange juice

Soy milk

What to do:

Obviously you don’t blend the soy milk and oj together.

The first time we blended fresh blueberries, fresh strawberries and soymilk.

The second time we blended a handful of frozen berries, a cup of orange juice, two leaves of kale and a banana.

You can make all kinds of combinations and they are super healthy. We had one as our breakfast this morning along with a hardboiled egg left over from Easter Sunday egg coloring!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

