Skip to content

Bacon, brie & cranberry sandwiches

April 1, 2010

This recipe always gets me a high-five from Adrian and I sometimes high-five my other hand as well.

I made this up because I tasted a similar sandwich at a small shop in Oxford, England and decided I had to make my own creation!

It’s super easy.

Ingredients:

Big buns, any style but I use wheat varieties

British bacon (if you don’t have access to British-type bacon use American)

Red onion

Honey (optional)

Either vegetable oil or butter, I use veg oil now

Cranberry sauce, like the type you have at Thanksgiving

Brie, which is a soft cheese. I get Sainsbury’s store brand French Brie for £1

First, turn the oven on. It can pre-heat while you are doing the other stuff. After I have the sandwiches compiled I toast them to melt the brie, and it also gives them a fun crunch.

Finely slice the red onion and put it in a frying pan. Cover it with some vegetable oil, squeeze about a tablespoon or more of honey and cook it on medium-high heat until the onions are carmelized. If you don’t know what carmelized red onion looks like, go to Google images.

Open the buns and spread the cranberry sauce on the bottom halves. However much you think you will like in your mouth when you eat it.

Start cooking the bacon. American bacon takes longer so I’d probably just buy the pre-cooked delicious kind and heat it up in the microwave. Luckily I live in England and can get British bacon so I don’t need to use a microwave because mine had a heart attack after the stress of cooking a potato. One more thing to add to the list of reasons I’m happy to be in England, right next to nationalized health care and…well I guess the microwave is second on the list! 🙂 Just for the record the joke was on England, not the NHS, which I really do like.

Anyway, put your carmelized onions on top of the cranberry sauce, put the cooked bacon on top of that, and then slice the Brie and lay it on top of the bacon.

Put it in the oven for about 5 minutes, or however long it takes for the bun to slightly toast and the cheese to melt.

Take it out, stuff it in your mouth and trans-atlantic high-five me!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

