Skip to content

Uh-mazing Asian chicken

March 30, 2010

I never made Asian food before because it was scary. Not the food, the recipes. I didn’t know what a marinade was and I didn’t know what half the ingredients on the list were. Well, I knew what a marinade was but I had no idea how to make one and it seemed so daunting and way too much work.

The only good thing about living in “mother’s” house* (see explanation below)  was the occasional recipe I picked up because she is Asian so she knows tons of delicious recipes. This recipe is something I make all the time and it really is amazing. My parents loved it as well.

Basically it is chicken and vegetables in a soy sauce/balsamic vinegar mix. I would never have thought these two sauces would go together, but they taste beautiful!

Ingredients:

2 garlic cloves

Balsamic vinegar

Soy sauce (I use light soy sauce)

Olive oil or vegetable oil

Red & green peppers

Onion (red or white, I love red)

Lime juice (You can use a fresh lime, but I’m lazy and cheap so I buy lime juice in a jar and use it for a lot of other things because it lasts a long time)

Chunk chicken, or boneless, skinless chicken breasts. (I generally buy frozen chicken breasts or chunks and let it defrost in the fridge for 24 hours before putting it in the marinade)

What to do:

-Put the chicken chunks in the bottom of the pan or plastic baggie to soak up the most juices and then wash your hands! I would think I wouldn’t need to put that, but President Obama had to tell the American public to start washing their hands after going to the toilet so obviously it’s necessary.

-Wash the vegetables, then chop them thickly. Throw them in the pan/bag.

-Smash the garlic with the side of the knife, then cut off the two tips. Peel it and chop it very finely. Throw it in with the veg and chicken.

-Splash 2 or 3 tablespoons of lime juice, or squeeze a whole lime over the top of everything.

-Pour balsamic vinegar and soy sauce over everything until it’s all covered. Just make sure you put equal parts of the vinegar and soy sauce. You can also put a small amount of olive oil in the sauce.

-Put a lid on the pan or cover it, then leave it over night to soak. The reason it’s good to let it soak over night is because it seriously soaks up all the flavors. I really don’t like the taste of plain chicken, but I gobble this chicken right up.

-The next day you can dump the whole thing into a wok or large pan and fry it on medium-high heat until the chicken is done. I know when the chicken is done by cutting a couple thicker pieces open and seeing if it’s still pink and slimy.

You can also cook some kind of Asian noodles or rice with it, but it’s so tasty plain.

* My previous landlord who rented out every space in her house and treated each tenant like her child, stealing food out of their cabinets to cook them meals they didn’t ask for or want, hanging their underwear out on the line for everyone to see, breaking into their rooms while tenants were away to clean already clean toilets and then lying about it, etc.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

