Skip to content

British Cheese & Onion sammiches

March 30, 2010

When I first saw cheese and onion sandwiches in the store I didn’t trust them. Sometimes I don’t trust British food, although overall it’s very good.

They have hamburgers and hot dogs in cans, and that’s all I have to say about that.

So, the cheese and onion. This is a British classic and it’s good. The only thing is that it’s quite rich sometimes, so I think it’s better for a party food than a dinner or lunch dish. I cut them into fun triangles and put them on a platter. I made this up so I’m proud, although it really wasn’t hard to copy one I got in a store so I can’t be too proud.

Ingredients:

-Creme Fraiche, small pot (I didn’t know what this was, but it’s a type of cream and if you look for it around the sour cream area it should be there)

-Light Mayo, or regular. Different strokes.

-Red onion, one will do  (You can use a white like the shops do, but I like the red to add color to the cheese and cream. It looks fancier.)

-Sharp cheddar cheese

-Sliced bread

What to do:

Dump the whole pot of creme fraiche into a medium-sized bowl. Start out with 2  giant teaspoons of mayo and mix that in. Dice the onion very finely and mix half of it in. Put a handful of shredded cheese in and mix everything together.

The mixture probably won’t be a very good consistency at this point, but I always start out putting a little of everything in to get a feel for the consistency and the amount of onion and cheese.

You don’t want the consistency to be really runny from the mayo and creme fraiche, so if it is runny add more cheese and onion until it is thick enough to drop spoonfuls on the bread slices.

Basically you want it to be thick enough so that it won’t run all over the place and immediately fall out of the sandwiches once you put them together.

When it’s the right consistency, put a couple spoonfuls on a piece of bread. You don’t want to put too much because it’s quite rich and it will squeeze out of the sides if it’s too full. Then put the top on and cut it in 4 triangular pieces. Or not. However you want to eat it. I arrange them on a platter and alternate them between tuna and cucumber triangle sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

